Students may not graduate as staff at 41 universities boycott marking work

10 more days of strike action are also set to take place this term

Staff at 41 universities will boycott marking students’ work in the coming months, the University and College Union (UCU) confirmed today.

This could prevent students at the universities in question from receiving their grades and in some cases, students may be unable to graduate.

Earlier this month, 40 universities voted for ten more days of lecturer strikes, adding to the 13 days already lost to industrial action this year.

UCU general secretary Jo Grady said: “The decision taken by our members to escalate the pay and working conditions dispute to a marking and assessment boycott reflects their justifiable anger at university vice chancellors who continue to ignore their concerns whilst drawing over-inflated salaries and hoarding billions of pounds in reserves.

“University staff have been clear that many simply cannot contemplate staying in higher education whilst wages fall, workloads rise, and nothing is done to address the rampant use of insecure contracts or shocking equality failings.

“Vice chancellors should be ashamed of this record, but rather than solve this dispute they have become more intransigent than ever. Students and staff alike deserve so much better.

“The union’s full weight is behind every member who is taking this action on behalf of all university staff and students, which is the only way to secure the long term future of the sector.”

Here are the 41 universities where students may be unable to graduate because of a marking boycott:

1. Birkbeck, University of London

2. Bournemouth University

3. University of Brighton

4. Cardiff University

5. University of Chester

6. Courtauld Institute of Art

7. The University of Dundee

8. Durham University

9. Edinburgh Napier University

10. University of Edinburgh

11. University of Essex

12. University of Exeter

13. University of Glasgow

14. Goldsmiths, University of London

15. University of Greenwich

16. Heriot-Watt University

17. Keele University

18. King’s College London

19. Kingston University

20. The University of Leeds

21. Liverpool Institute of Performing Arts (LIPA)

22. University of Liverpool

23. Loughborough University

24. Newcastle University

25.  The University of Northampton

26. The University of Nottingham

27. Queen Margaret University

28. Queen Mary University of London

29. Queen’s University Belfast

30. Royal College of Art

31. Royal Northern College of Music

32. Sheffield Hallam University

33. The University of Sheffield

34. SOAS, University of London

35. University of Southampton

36. University of St Andrews

37. University of Sussex

38. UCA – University for the Creative Arts

39. Ulster University

40. University of the Arts London

41. University of Westminster

For a full list of the universities facing further strike action this term, follow this link.

Related stories recommended by this writer:

• These are the 40 universities facing more strike action before the end of the academic year

• Revealed: One in three Russell Group university bosses received pay rises last year

• Education minister says there is ‘systemic antisemitism’ within the NUS

  • Partner links